Fudging the Squinch

Here’s a little tip, that I don’t normally share…. Often times, when I have trouble getting the proper expression from the model’s eyes – I will fake Peter Hurley‘s ‘squinch’ using Photoshop….

I use the liquify tool to push the lower eyelid up and then I will mask out the Iris afterwards, as it usually becomes distorted. Here’s the final result, and you can compare to the original – it’s subtle in some cases – depending on the scenario, but I find it’s effective for those shots that are ALMOST ‘there’.

Fudging The Squinch from Pete Jones | Vancouver Photog on Vimeo.

Here’s the link to Peter’s ‘squinch’ video in case you haven’t seen it yet: http://youtu.be/ff7nltdBCHs

Leave a Reply

